HomeHome   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    Forum & Information
SPONTANEOUS PNEUMOTHORAX 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 RegisterRegister 

return to work after surgery/change jobs?

Anna Reply with quote
Trainee Blebber

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:59 pm    Post subject: return to work after surgery/change jobs?

Hi all,
I'm surprised not much has been written about work, so I take it most people have been able to carry on/ take up where they left off?
I'm in a bit of a dilemma: after my first operation (vats pleurectomy&apicectomy) I returned to work 2 months after the drain finally came out. It was a gradual return, but still quite heavy, as my job is physically and emotionally quite demanding (I'm a midwife like Annie - is sp an occupational hazard for babycatchers? Maybe I unconsciously push with the women! Smile )
Anyway, I had a recurrence after 2 months back at work, had thoracotomy with repeat pleurectomy, and am still off sick at the moment. I am keen to work (not to mention needing the money!), but a bit wary now of throwing myself back into this job, where you just can't take it easy when you need to. I've requested temporarily less strenuous duties, but they are not sure this can be accomodated, and I know that it doesn't really work like that in practice what with staff shortages etc. So I am debating whether to look for a different, more sedentary job for say the next year, just to let things heal and settle more, and then return to midwifery later.